有关热升华打印的八个常见问题解答

印刷是一个无处不在、看似传统的市场,听起来是一个小众行业,但却是一个价值数千亿的巨大市场。现在传统印刷市场正趋于饱和。数据显示,2019年第四季度传统印刷设备出货量下降5.4%,约为2530万台。受此形势影响,新型纹理热升华打印成为打印机巨头开拓传统打印机之外增量市场的重点方向之一。毫无疑问,热升华印刷已成为新趋势,本文将帮助您解决有关热升华印刷的8个常见问题。 

T 恤上的图像、商场的海报、展会上的高端定制以及停车标志。你有没有想过这些图像是如何在生活中随处产生的?该速率可能来自大幅面热升华打印机。与办公室或家用打印机不同,大幅面打印机是远离消费者的行业,但却对人们的生活和生产产生深远的影响。如果您想开展热升华印刷业务,这篇有关热升华印刷的 8 个常见问题解答的文章可以帮助您更好地了解热升华行业。

1.我可以升华哪些产品?

经过升华处理的基材的一些例子包括硬质纤维板(根据不同用途切割成不同形状的压缩木材)、玻璃切板、陶瓷和铝制圣诞装饰品以及由特殊塑料制成的耐热手机壳。您还可以在涤纶服装上升华。我很幸运地从百货商店买到了聚酯衬衫,但你们的供应商也会提供这些。

2.热升华比丝网印刷更好吗?

热升华与丝网印刷

  • 印数 –热升华打印最初的设置成本确实很高。而丝网印刷每次的设置成本都很高。一旦您支付了初始费用,对于小批量生产来说,染色法更具成本效益。它也不会与更大的印刷量发生冲突。
  • 细节 -丝网印刷产生锐利的边缘,但由于热升华印刷使用的数字方法,细节水平非常复杂。您不仅可以以照片质量打印,而且细节非常出色,甚至可以显示笔触。
  • 颜色– Dye-sub 可以一次性打印任意数量的颜色,但是,它仅限于您可以在计算机上创建的颜色。幸运的是,这是很多颜色。丝网印刷限制您一次只能使用一种颜色,并且使用多种颜色可能会导致渗色或对齐问题,但您可以混合任何您喜欢的颜色。
  • 长寿– 丝网印刷位于其印刷材料的表面,而染料则深入渗透到纤维中。这意味着热升华印刷具有极强的防褪色性。它可能会比大多数(如果不是全部)其他打印方法更长寿。

3.衬衫必须是100%涤纶吗?

用于热升华的衬衫至少需要使用 50% 聚酯纤维。聚酯的百分比越高越好,因为墨水只会转移到聚酯纤维上。除了 50/50 棉质涤纶衬衫外,还有其他类型的衬衫也适用。我最喜欢的一种叫做三重混合。三混衬衫由 50% 涤纶、25% 棉和 25% 人造丝组成。这种组合打造出超柔软的衬衫。请记住,您只能使用颜色非常浅的衬衫,并且由于衬衫中的其他纤维,设计会显得稍微褪色。实际上,我正准备制作一些秋季设计的三混插肩(棒球袖)衬衫。其实我更喜欢秋天的褪色外观。青少年也往往喜欢他们的设计的褪色外观。

热升华在印刷行业如此令人垂涎的主要原因之一是它可以很好地呈现颜色并且在洗涤时不会褪色。

如果您想最大限度地提高这种效益和成本,那么坚持穿白衬衫通常是一个好主意。它们不仅通常比同种衬衫的彩色选项便宜,而且您可以在白色上打印任何您想要的颜色……当然白色除外。此外,聚酯衬衫的一个常见抱怨是它们会“发光”并反射大量光线,这可能会影响您在其上印刷的设计。这个问题在白衬衫上并不常见,因为如果你不是穿着它的人,很难判断衬衫是棉质的还是聚酯纤维的。

与这款 A4 型号类似,Port & Company 有一款超棒的廉价热升华 T 恤,但适合年轻人。

4.是否可以在100%棉衬衫上升华?

回答“棉质衬衫可以升华吗?”这个问题的简单方法事实并非如此,但有一些例外。自从 升华 与嵌入衬衫中的聚酯纤维产生化学键,因此使用 100% 棉材料的衬衫显然不是一个好主意。现在也有一些例外,比如市场上有一些热升华涂层产品可以购买,但有人说即使涂了这种涂层,颜色也不太好。尽管棉花和热升华的世界看起来就像汤姆与杰瑞的游戏,但还是有一些方法可以尝试解决这个问题。

聚酯 T 恤制造商的首要任务是生产一款极其舒适且具有与聚酯含量相关的高性能的衬衫。定义涤纶衬衫的一个重要因素是它在人体皮肤上的感觉以及相关的舒适度。

5. 从事热升华业务需要什么设备?

如果您刚刚开始热升华,您需要的主要设备是一台好的热压机、一台热升华打印机以及一台用于设计的计算机或平板电脑。如果您计划在您的业务中添加杯子和帽子,您还需要一台杯子压机和一台帽子压机。您必须拥有的较小物品通常与打印机或热压机捆绑在一起。他们包括:

热转印胶带

热升华纸

墨水

用于升华的粘合剂喷雾

屠夫纸

特氟龙床单和枕头

羊皮纸

6.升华需要对流烤箱吗?

仅当您计划对需要包装的物品进行升华时,才需要对流烤箱。出于一般健康原因,建议不要使用厨房烤箱。我从未投资过对流烤箱进行升华。有足够的基材可供出售,不需要将其包裹在烤箱中。一些确实需要包装的物品包括宠物餐具、酒杯和其他饮料杯。我在我的普通厨房烤箱里做了几个小玻璃杯(在我意识到这可能会对健康造成危害之前——哎呀!)它们结果很漂亮,但这是一个非常耗时的过程,因为包装并不便宜,所以我只有一个,不得不一次烘烤一个玻璃杯。

我的建议是查看供应商提供的数百个空白。如果您真的喜欢宠物碗(或其他东西)并且这将是您的主要物品之一,那么就去买吧!

7. 热升华需要特殊纸张吗?

您确实需要专门为染料升华配制的特殊纸张。普通打印纸吸水性太强。有多个品牌可供选择。

我总是选择最便宜的,没有遇到任何问题。将纸张装入 Sawgrass 时,将灰白色面朝上放入抽屉中。

8. 我需要从供应商处购买隔热手套吗?

您肯定需要某种手套来保护您免受烧伤,但没有必要从供应商那里购买它们。事实上,我不再使用原包中附带的手套。他们有橡胶(可能是塑料)尖端,最终会融化到我的基材上!我一直认为我的印刷机做错了,导致我的物品上出现黑色斑点。我花了一段时间才弄清楚发生了什么事。现在我只使用一些冬季手套。厚手套会更好,但自从我们去年搬家以来,我一直找不到我的手套。我想今年冬天我会投资一些新的“热升华手套”。更好的是,我会等到冬季服装清仓!并非所有物品都需要戴手套,只需携带导热物品即可。和你的高中科学老师谈谈这个!

阅读完这篇有关热升华印刷的 8 个常见问题解答的文章后,我相信您会对您的热升华业务有更好的了解。

评价这篇文章

留下评论

小时
分钟
秒数
赶紧参加我们的春季大清仓促销吧!

买多点 免费获得更多

购买任意Sublistar DTF机器,即可免费获得价值$300的DTF Supplies捆绑包,其中包括100m DTF胶片、5kg DTF粉末、1套DTF墨水和A RIP软件。 点击 了解更多。

Eight FAQ about Sublimation Printing

Printing is a ubiquitous, seemingly traditional market that sounds a niche industry but is a huge market worthy of hundreds of billions. Now the traditional printing market is becoming saturated. Data shows that the traditional printing equipment shipments dropped 5.4% in the fourth quarter of 2019, about 25.3 million. Due to this situation, new texture sublimation printing has become one of the key directions of printer giants to develop incremental market outside traditional printers.  There is no doubt that sublimation printing has become the new trend, and this article will help you solve 8 FAQ about subliamtion printing. 

Images on your T-shirt, posters in the mall, high end customization at the exhibition, and parking signs. Have you ever thought about how these images are generated everywhere in life? Probably the rate comes from a large format sublimation printer. Unlike office or home printers, large format printers are industries far away from consumers, but have a profound impact on people’s life and production. If you want to start your business on sublimation printing, this article about 8 FAQ about sublimation printing can help you know sublimation industry better.

1.What products can I sublimate?

A few examples of substrates that have been treated for sublimation include hardboard (compressed wood cut into different shapes for different purposes), glass cutting boards, ceramic and aluminum Christmas ornaments, and cell phone cases made of a special plastic that can take the heat. You can also sublimate on polyester garments. I’ve had luck with polyester shirts from department stores, but your vendor will also supply these.

2. Is dye sublimation better than screen printing?

Sublimation vs Screen Printing

  • Print Runs –Sublimation printing does have high set up costs, initially. Whereas screen printing has high set-up costs every time. Once you’ve made the initial outlay, dye-sub is more cost-effective for small runs. It doesn’t struggle with bigger print runs either.
  • Details –Screenprint produces sharp edges but due to the digital methods that sublimation printing uses, the level of detail is so intricate. Not only can you print in photographic quality, but the detail is so outstanding you can even show brushstrokes.
  • Colors– Dye-sub can print any number of colors in one swoop, however, it is limited to the colors you can create on a computer. Fortunately, this is a LOT of colors. Screen printing limits you to one at a time and using multiple colors can cause bleeding or alignment issues, but you can mix up any color you like.
  • Longevity– Screen printing sits on the surface of the material it prints on, whereas dye-sub penetrates deep into the fibers. This means that sublimation printing is extremely fade-resistant. It will likely outlive most, if not all, other print methods.

3.Do the shirts have to be 100% polyester?

Shirts for sublimation need to be at the very least, 50% polyester. The higher percentage of polyester the better as the ink will only transfer to the poly fibers. In addition to 50/50 cotton poly shirts, there are other types that will work. One of my favorites is called tri-blend. Tri-blend shirts are 50% polyester, 25% cotton, and 25% rayon. This combination makes for a super soft shirt. Just remember, you can only use very light colored shirts and the design will appear slightly faded due to the other fibers in the shirt. I’m actually getting ready to make some tri-blend raglan (baseball sleeves) shirts with a fall design. I actually prefer the faded look for fall. Teens tend to like the faded look for their designs as well.

One of the main reasons sublimation is so coveted in the printing industry is the fact that it allows the colors to come out so well and that it doesn’t fade off in the wash.

If you want to maximize this benefit along with cost, sticking to white shirts is often a good idea. Not only do they typically come cheaper than the colored options of the same shirt, but you can print literally any color that you want on white… except white of course. Also, a common complaint of polyester shirts is that they can “shine” and reflect a lot of light off of them and this can take away from the design that you printed on it. This problem isn’t as common with white shirts since it is much harder to tell if the shirt is cotton or polyester if you are not the one wearing it.

Similar to this A4 model, Port & Company has an awesome budget sublimation tee but for youth.

4.Is it possible to sublimate on 100% cotton shirts?

The simple way to answer the question of “Is sublimation possible on cotton shirts?” is not really, with some exceptions. Since sublimation creates a chemical bond to polyester fibers embedded in the shirt, it obviously is not a good idea to use a shirt with 100% cotton material. Now there are some exceptions like the fact that there are some sublimation coating products for purchase out in the market, but some people say that the colors do not come out as well even when this coating is applied. Even though the worlds of cotton and sublimation seem like Tom versus Jerry, there are some ways to try to get around this.

A big priority of polyester t shirt makers is to make an extremely comfortable shirt with high performance that is related to the polyester content. A big part of what defines a polyester shirt is how it feels on someone’s skin and its related comfort levels.

5. What equipment will I need to go into the sublimation business?

If you are just starting out in sublimation the main equipment you will need is a good heat press, a sublimation printer, and a computer or tablet for designing.  If you plan to add mugs and hats to your business, you will also need a mug press and a hat press. Smaller items you must have are often bundled with your printer or heat press.  They include:

heat transfer tape

sublimation paper

ink

adhesive spray for sublimation

butcher paper

Teflon sheets and pillows

parchment paper

6. Is a convection oven necessary for sublimation?

A convection oven is only necessary in the sublimation business if you plan to sublimate on items that require a wrap. For general health reasons, it is advised NOT to use your kitchen oven. I have never invested in a convection oven for sublimation.  There are enough substrates to sell that do not require wrapping a placing in an oven.  Some items that do require wraps include pet dishes, shot glasses, and other beverage glasses.  I have done a few shot glasses in my regular kitchen oven (before I was aware that is could be a health hazard–YIKES!) They turned out beautiful, but it was a very time consuming process as the wraps are not cheap so I only had one and had to bake the glasses one at a time.

My suggestion is to look through the hundreds of blanks available from your vendor.  If you really like the pet bowls  (or whatever) and that is going to be one of your main items, then go for it!

7. Do I need special paper for sublimation?

You will indeed need special paper formulated just for dye sublimation.  Regular printer paper is too absorbent. There are several brands from which to choose.

I’ve always gone with the cheapest and haven’t had a problem. When you load your paper into your Sawgrass, put the off white side up in the drawer.

8. Do I need to purchase heat gloves from my vendor?

You will definitely need some kind of gloves to protect you from burns, however it is not necessary to purchase them from your vendor.  As a matter of fact, I no longer use the gloves that came with my original bundle.  They had rubbery (probably plastic) tips that would end up melting onto my substrates!  I kept thinking I was doing something wrong with the press that was causing black splotches on my items.  It took me awhile to figure out what was happening. Now I just use some winter mittens.  Thick gloves would be better, but I haven’t been able to locate my gloves since we moved last year.  I think I’ll invest in some new “sublimation gloves” this winter.  Better yet, I’ll wait until winter apparel goes on clearance! You will not need gloves for all items–just the ones that conduct heat. Talk to your high school science teacher about that!

After reading this article about 8 FAQ about sublimation printing, I am sure you will know better about your sublimation business.

Leave a Reply

Address
Dongguan,
Guangdong, CN 523000

Work Hours
Monday to Friday: 7AM - 7PM
Weekend: 10AM - 5PM

Talk to Our Expert

Be The First to Learn About Our Amazing Product

Print Your Colorful Life!

Black Friday
Sale

Sign up for exclusive offers!

Get the hottest deals before the storm is over! Check details!
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds